cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AngeloF
Level 3

Info on different versions of InstallShield

Hi!
I'm a newbie of InstallShield Technology to make packages installation, I have a first question to start:
What are the differences between these three versions of InstallShield ?
- InstallShield Premier
- InstallShield Professional
- InstallShield Standaone Build Developer

A second question, I'm interesting to a version of InstallShield that allows me to work
with windows installer technology (so can I make .msi package installations)
with a script editor for may custom actions

Thanks for all replies
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(2) Replies
Videstra
Level 7

I can only address what I have - which is IS Professional. I assume premier has a few more features - but it doesn't have anything my environment requires. I am not really familiar with IS Standalone.
IS Pro does let you write DLLs (in .net or other languages) and also lets you write VBS Scripts as custom actions. You can do A LOT with them - and in fact I use both techniques regularly. You can also use install scripts - but I don't like it. My skills are limited - I do vb.net and some C#. IS Pro lets me do .net dlls for more complex things - but there is some funny behavior due to the way IS shells these - you have to spend some time wrestling with these eccentricities - and that's why getting experience with IS is important.