cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
napalmer
Level 4

Help with Search File System Wiz action

I'm using the Search File System action to try and find an executable inside of Windows\system32\ but it won't find it (although I have verified the file is there on my testing maching). The SFS is setup like this:

Search name: ipxroute.exe
Search directories: $D(os_main)/system32/

Instead of looking for ipxroute, I tried cmd.exe just to make sure I could look in the directory and it was found so I'm not sure if there is some hidden aspect to some executables in sys32 that blocks us from finding them. Can anyone give me a hint on how to find this file besides using SFS... I'm really new to installers (InstallShield as well) so anything would be great.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(16) Replies
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

It doesn't seem as if it should matter, but perhaps use $D(lib) as the starting point? And if that executable won't be in a subdirectory, perhaps you can use the File Exists condition...
0 Kudos
napalmer
Level 4

I swapped over to using $D(lib) [the file won't be in a subdirectory, thats gauranteed] and tried both my SFS and the File Exists condition [$D(lib)/iscsiexe.exe ... ipx was my test value] but it still doesn't see the file.
0 Kudos
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

That's strange; as a test (of whether there's something special about System32), does it succeed if you set it up to detect a file in another directory?
0 Kudos
napalmer
Level 4

Yeah, I did a search for cmd.exe and it worked fine, brought up the absolutePath. tested a few other exes and some would show and some wouldnt.
0 Kudos
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

Hmmmm... Any obvious pattern to the files it doesn't find (subdirectory, file type, file attributes, ...)?
0 Kudos
napalmer
Level 4