cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ronanorm
Level 3

Help Please - Install Condition

Hello,

I am a newbie to building installers. I have a project for installing a video driver. The product if working but now I am trying to add a few custom conditions and am having issues. I think it is simple, I just don’t know what I am doing.
What I need:
What do I need to do to look for a Registry key “HKLM\Software\NVIDIA Coportation” and if it exists I want the install to stop..
That’s it, seems simple but I am getting confused if I should be able to write a Exec Condition or do I need to…
Any help would be great.

Ron - HP
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(5) Replies
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

The System Search Wizard will help you set up a check whether a registry value exists (I'm not sure MSI supports just the existence of a registry key). The "search" will store the contents of the registry value in a property you specify (such as FOUND_IT).

The end of the wizard also lets you specify whether to use the results of the search in an install condition, which is a condition tested before the installer really gets going. In your case, you might want to reverse the condition from the default FOUND_IT to Not FOUND_IT, and then provide a message to display if the condition fails.
0 Kudos
ronanorm
Level 3

Thanks for the fast reply.

So are you saying that going through the search wisard and selecting to have it be a condition at the end is all I need to do? I dont need to tie it in anywhere else?

Whould it be better is I provided Key and value to check?

Ron
0 Kudos
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

That should do it; the System Search Wizard will prompt you for the key and value to test for, and whether to get an install condition involved, and that should be that.
0 Kudos
ronanorm
Level 3

Thanks Robert.. Was making it more complex than it needed to be.. That worked, and it did let me use a Key with no value.
0 Kudos
hmorales
Level 2