cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
balajika
Level 3

Error 27502. Could not connect to Oracle

Hello,

I am new to installshield. I am creating a "InstallScript MSI" project and I am trying to execute a SQL script for ORACLE database. I just have a simple statement to create a table in the script. It seems the database connection cannot be established. I am providing the following details.

Database server: //machinename: port/service_name
SQLserver authentication: logid id/password

I am getting the following error: Error 27502. Could not connect to Oracle '//machinename: port/service_name'. [Microsoft][ODBC driver for Oracle] (0)

Can someone help me to figure what is needed to establish the connection? I can provide more details if needed.

Thanks.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(7) Replies
hidenori
Level 17

I recommend that you configure InstallShield to use the Oracle ODBC Instant Client instead of Microsoft ODBC for Oracle. See Running SQL Scripts with Unicode Characters on an Oracle Database Server for more information.
0 Kudos
balajika
Level 3

Hello hidenori,

Thanks for your reply. I did made the changes to use Oracle ODBC Instant Client per the link that you provided. Now I am getting the following error:
Error 27502. Could not connect to Oracle '//machinename: port/service_name'. [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Data source name not found and no default driver specified (0)

Do I still miss any configuration to make it work? Thanks.
0 Kudos
hidenori
Level 17

Did you update your InstallShield project to install the Oracle ODBC Instant Client onto your target machine? See Downloading the Oracle Basic Instant Client and the Oracle ODBC Instant Client and Creating an .msi Package and InstallShield Prerequisite for Both for more details.
0 Kudos
balajika
Level 3

Hello hidenori,