cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RobSzy
Level 3

Default Setup Language in 2016 Professional Edition

Hi to everyone,

I'm new in creating setups with InstallShield. In the past we used the VisualStudio integrated builder - but this does not meet our speficications any more so now we've got the Professional Edition of InstallShield 2016.

Before we ordered the professional version, we were told, that the installation language of IS will automatically be the setup language - this cannot be changed. That's ok for us because we only need the english language for our setups allthough we're a german company. And thats my first problem: I've got a german Windows 7 Enterprise system and I installed IS 2016 Prof SP2 in english. Now I created my first "basic msi project" and the default language is german and cannot be changed.

I've searched the FAQ but didn't found an answer. Can anyone help us to set the english language as default? Thanks! 🙂
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(2) Replies
chad_petersen
Level 9

This seems to be a rather complex topic - I'd suggest contacting Flexera about it. In the meantime here's some good reading material.

Good luck!
Chad
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How an Installation Determines Which Language to Use for the User Interface
InstallShield 2016

Although you can localize an installation in as many languages as your project supports, an installation can be run in only one language. When Setup.exe initializes, it determines which language should be used for the installation.

Determining the Language at Setup.exe Initialization