cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
google44
Level 4

Create dialogs in installscript project, a nightmare

How do i create a Welcome type dialog in installScript projects ? No, clone it's not working properly, publish option is not working properly. Did Installshield even test it's product ? Until now i found at least 10 obvious problems with the product.For a few thousands dollars paid for this product i expect more than this. I clone a dialog, modify it's name but when i try to include it in wizard an error message appears, something like a detected loop inside WaitOnDialog. If clone option is not working properly why it is included ? I never succeed to create a usable dialog with this option. Also publish option is crap, i need to recreate a previously created dialog because of that.I am a developer and a tester and i have enough experience but i never see such design problems and issues as i see in installshield. I don't know who test is2008 but i would do it for free if only as a result problems will be solved. Does somebody have an idea what's the problem with clone option ?
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(3) Replies
Darain
Level 6

Agree, agree, and agree. But if you are stuck with IS, you may try right click All Dialogs -> New Dialogs. Creating from scratch was easier for me.
0 Kudos
esiemiat
Level 9

I have not had any problems with cloning or creating new custom dialogs. Did you create a new script function that will call the cloned dialog that you renamed? If you are not using the old Welcome dialog a better option might be to just modify the dialog instead of cloning it. This way the existing function (SdShowWelcome) will work with it.
0 Kudos
google44
Level 4