cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MaryRBS
Level 3

COM Interop

I'm using VS 2012 and InstallShield LE Spring 2012 for Visual Studio. I'm new to IS, having used VS 2005 & 2008 and VS's Setup and Deployment projects.

In my main project, I need to check the Register for COM Interop. Does that mean in my IS project on the .dll Properties "COM & .NET Settings" I need to check the COM Interop?

I can't get my project to install (or register?) properly on the client machine. It works fine on my development machine, but I'm using gacutil and regasm. It appears to install successfully on the client, but errors (can't find it) when called. When I checked the Installer Class, I get a 1001 error on install and it rolled back. I thought this was showing me an error I had all along, but didn't see. However, searching the posts, it sounds like it's an error with that option. Also, I tried changing the Registration Type on that same tab to Extract COM information. Once chosen I can't seem to choose None anymore. When I save it and go back, it's back to Extract COM information.

Are these the settings I need to be concerned with to get registered on the client machine? It seemed to all work automatically with VS's S&D projects, or perhaps it's a difference between VS2008 and VS2012 that I'm not aware of. What's odd is that it worked the first time I installed it on the client machine. But after uninstalling and reinstalling with minor changes to main project, I haven't been able to get it to work. Is it possible the Uninstall removed something??

Any help would be appreciated.
thanks,
Mary
0 Kudos
(6) Replies
Chaitra
Level 9

Hi Mary,

Yes, Please try checking "COM & .NET Settings" in your InstallShield Project. And you may also reinstall InstallShield on your client machine once and check if it has the same issue.

Kindly let us know the updates, so that we can assist you further on this.

Thanks,
Chaitra
0 Kudos
MaryRBS
Level 3