cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Gary100
Level 3

Basic MSI Project to run a batch file or powershell script

Hello all,

I was wondering if you could point me into the right direction into an issue I'm having.
First of all, I'm fairly new to InstallShield and don't have a lot of experience besides creating a transform with the Tuner.
In our environment we have SCCM (2012R2) and for those of you who don't know, SCCM LOVES Msi-s and hates everything else.
What I'm trying to do is convert some SCCM packages into MSIs. Again, for those of you who are not familiar with SCCM, packages are a nice way of saying say "scripts".
I would like to convert these scripts into an MSI package.
Let's take the firefox installer as an example. It's an exe file. Is it possible to run a custom script during the MSI install to run this exe with a silent switch?
Also, can you run a MSI custom script, which runs a simple batch file or a powershell file during the MSI? Is this possible?

Thank you for any of your help.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(9) Replies
Gary100
Level 3

Here's what I have been able to accomplish so far (I'm using Install Shield 2016 by the way)

1. Created a basic MSI project.
2. In Installation Designer, under Files and Folder, I have added the Firefox executable to the directory where I'm installing it. (C:\Program Files x86\Company Name\Program Name\FirefoxFile.exe
3. Under custom actions I have created a new custom action (RunFirefoxSetup). I did this by selecting create a new exe with a Path referencing a directory.
4. The working directory is set to my folder where I'm installing the product in ProgramFiles.
5. The file name and command line is the full path to my folder "C:\Program Files (x86)\company name\Mozilla Firefox\FirefoxSetup52.2.0esr.exe" -ms
6. Return processing: Synchronous (Check exit code)
7. in-scrip execution: immediate execution
8. execution scheduling: always execute