cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rjgeyer
Level 2

Activation Woes

I'm new to InstallShield and would like to post some feedback on your PITA activation process. It made a tremendously bad impression for your product right out of the gate. KUDOS!!!

First of all, when registering my serial number, I got a generic error message "Insufficient Information" after filling in all the required fields. After 30 wasted minutes of trying different browsers and different machines, on a whim I decided to try a different phone number format. Shazam! It finally went through; but alas, after about 30 seconds I received some generic message that the registration service was down. This happened last Friday late in the day, so I gave up until Monday.

I tried again Monday morning and got the same error message trying to register my serial number. I start looking for support numbers...anything so I can get my InstallShield activated and working. No support number anywhere on your site. Excellent customer support! I find an email address and try that. A day later I get a generic auto-response saying I don't have a support contract and could not get support. Heh! Didn't anticipate needing support to get the product installed and working.

Finally, on Monday afternoon, the serial number registration finally worked. So, thinking my problems are over, I then proceed to activate my new InstallShield 2008. When trying to do online verification, after about a minute, it responds with an error stating the verification service can not be contacted, please check my internet connection and try again. Well after another 30 minutes of wasted time trying to get my copy verified, I break down and do the offline verification method.