Stop downgrade in Installanywhere 2017
I have an installer installed at version 15 on my machine now I try to install an installer with version 13. For this, installer with version 13 get installed and overwrite the directory of version 15 installer. But version 13 installer doesn't work as it didn't start my application.
Is there any way I can stop downgrade or I can downgrade successfully with my application running.??
I have searched and applied rules for same but it didn't work out.
The downgrade will impact the end user product .Kindly suggest the possible way for this.
Thanks in advance.
Re: Stop downgrade in Installanywhere 2017
At least on Windows, an application cannot be running while it is updated. This is because files would be locked and in use by the application's process. You would need to first detect that your application is running then stop the application's process. You would first need to programmatically do that from a Windows command prompt. After you get that working from a command prompt, you could try using an Execute Script/Batch file Action to incorporate the functionality in your installer.