cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jdmaddison
Level 3

Running an EXE from Pre-Install

I am looking to run an EXE during the Pre-Install and check the return status. I found the following post with some answers:

> http://community.flexerasoftware.com/showthread.php?179568-Pre-isntall-requirement

However, I am new to the product and I don't know how to

> ... can do so by adding the file into INSTALLER_TEMP_DIR (installer temp directory) ...

I have gotten the install to run the EXE and return the expected error status, only I had to copy the EXE into the expected location before running the installation. Hopefully, I'm just missing an easy way to include that program and get it put into position on or before the Pre-Install. Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

Thanks,

jdmaddison
Minneapolis, MN
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(6) Replies
UtsabKarmakar
Level 5 Flexeran
Level 5 Flexeran

Hi,

Keep the exe file in install.exe folder.
Use $INSTALLER_LAUNCH_DIR$ to get the path of the install.exe
Then execute the script that you want to run in pre-install like this :$INSTALLER_LAUNCH_DIR$\.exe to execute it
Then get the return status from the action and then proceed with the installation depending on the status.

Let me know if it helps

Thanks
Utsab Karmakar
0 Kudos
jdmaddison
Level 3

UtsabKarmakar wrote:

Keep the exe file in install.exe folder.

There's the catch-- I need to extract the program file needed to run from install.exe during the pre-install task. I need to be able to loop on prompting for input (from an InstallAnywhere panel) and then running the exe with that input, until the exe returns success or the installation is canceled.

Thanks,

jdmaddison
Minneapolis, MN
0 Kudos
DLBoyd151
Level 2

You can add the exe to your jar file and then use getResourceAsStream to write it out to the temp directory.

This is a simplified example...

public class MyCustomCodeClass extends CustomCodeAction {