cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
zunkination
Level 4

Maintenance Mode Confusion

Hi friends,
I've been developing installers for about 10 years now, using InstallShield and InstallAnywhere. I was very pleased to see the new Maintenance Mode support added to IA2010. Great addition.

I hope I can explain this problem in a somewhat coherent fashion, I apologize in advance if this is confusing....

How is the maintenance mode supposed to work with existing instances of my software on an end-users system, when the previous version was installed using a different tool (InstallShield in this case)?

When I run the IA2010 build (first time we've used IA for this product line), then maintenance mode is not triggered, as far as the installer logic is concerned, there are no instances of the product on the system. This is understandable, I understand how the InstallAnywhere registry works to provide this information, and obviously, my older installations are not registered there.

So I could write my own detection and migration logic - this isn't a big deal, we've been doing this in our own home-grown maintenance mode for years. But I want to harness the built-in capabilities the IA2010 provides, and not have to rely on home-grown solutions for performing complex upgrades.

I guess my question is - how do I best handle this situation?

Worse --- if they actually perform a new installation of our software using the IA2010 installer, they will now in effect have two instances of the software on the system ---- this is fine, we support that capability.

However, there is no way to even identify that older instance of the product now, because the IA2010 installer now runs in Maintenance Mode, only recognizing the new instance of the software.