cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jkehoe
Level 4

Best way to include platform specific executables?

Hi,

I'm new to InstallAnywhere (and installers in general). I need to develop an installer that will place C-code executables that are specific for various platforms (Solaris, Windows, etc.). I've gone through the tutorials and searched through the help and can't find a good example of how to place these files. Is there a recommended way to include files in the project & have them installed only on the proper OS (like move actions with rules)?

Thanks in advance,
JK
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(10) Replies
jkehoe
Level 4

I've been playing around defining components like "Common Files", "Linux Files" and "Windows Files". I've added rules for the Linux & Windows components so that they are only installed on the proper platforms.

Does that seem like the best way to handle this?
0 Kudos
jijujacob27
Level 6

Hi jkehoe,
There are multiple ways by which you can do this. However, I will attempt to describe the simplest of all ways (the rules route, that you already explored)

Let us say you have the following scripts.
[LIST=1]
  • solaris.sh
  • linux.sh
  • allunix.sh

If you want to ship solaris.sh for solaris platform, then add the file to install phase, and then add a Check Platform Rule with Solaris on the perform list and all other platforms on the Do Not Perform list.

Similarly, for linux.sh, put linux alone on the perform list
    Similarly, for allunix.sh, put linux, hpux, solaris, macos, macosx on the perform list.

Another Way to do this:
    You can also achieve this by using Tags which was introduced in IA 2010. Though I would not recommend Tags for such simple scenarios, I would recommend that you go through Tags. Probably it might help you in some thing else.

Thanks,
  • 0 Kudos
    jkehoe
    Level 4

Thanks for the response. The rules seem to work really well, but I haven't tried tags yet. I'll look into that.