cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jslocum
Level 3

Creating an agent tries to run my installation file again

I have a problem that has recently popped up and I need help resolving it. I have an application called Blackthorne. When my application is run, I make a call to check for new updates or messages. As soon as I try to create a new agent using the line

Dim pAgent As New DWUpdateServiceLib.Agent

... Microsoft Installer is invoked, and it is trying to install Blackthorne again. Its as if creating the agent is making a call to my InstallBlackthorne.exe file.

I have no idea what is going on. Does anyone have a clue?
0 Kudos
(11) Replies
jslocum
Level 3

Upon further examination, I find that if I double click the agent.exe file or USISPM.exe file, both will immediately start an installation of my application file. Anyone know what could be going on? I'm relatively new to all this.
0 Kudos
Sunny_s
Level 6

Let me try to explain what has most likely happened,

a) You have installed software 'Blackthorne' which installs certain files like agent.exe.
b) You have deleted some files like agent.exe without properly uninstalling the 'Blackthorne'.

c) When you try to access agent.exe through "Dim pAgent As New DWUpdateServiceLib.Agent", windows Installer (part of OS) tries to repair all files from MSI cache which were deleted by mistake.

d) As part of repair, it brings back all files deleted by you for 'Blackthorne'. Agent is not trying to call "Blackthrone" instead Windows installer is trying to repair the error.

Possible solutions:
a) If you have uninstalled the Blackthrone properly, this should not happen. Also try rebooting machine after uninstall too.

b) If you like to install Update Service agent, please download latest Update Service SDK from your Update Service publisher site. https://services.installshield.com.

Sunny
0 Kudos
jslocum
Level 3

Sunny,