cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

upgrade Basic MSI to InstallScripts

Hello

In short, is there a way to upgrade a basic MSI project in IS 2008 to an InstallScripts project?

Reason being, my company has just reason taken over an appliactions source code and the installer project is a basic MSI installer. The reason I want to change to an installerScript project is I need to get the installer to work silently. Therefore, i thought I upgrade the project an InstallerScript project build and record it get the .iss and run.

Any and all ideas welcome I am new to IS and need to learn this stuff quickly

Thanks

BJHop
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(10) Replies
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

Actually, a pure MSI installer is easy to deploy silently, using the /qn switch to msiexec.exe:

msiexec /i product.msi /qn

One way to pass in data for a silent installation is using properties at the command line:

msiexec /i product.msi /qn INSTALLDIR="C:\RightHere"
0 Kudos
Not applicable

Okay

Good idea and thanks for the quick reply 🙂

We currently run the setup.exe file, with I think can be kicked off by msiexec.

Question: How would I go about finding the property name that are set in the install wizard?

BJHop
0 Kudos
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

For Basic MSI, there's also something like this (the setup.exe command-line arguments page has details):

setup.exe /s /V"/qn"

To see the properties used by a project, you can look in the Property Manager view.

For a complete list of properties used by a particular installer at run time, you can use logging with the /L switch, as in:

msiexec /i prodname.msi /Lp props.txt
0 Kudos
Not applicable

Now that I have the Props.txt

Can I just set of the properties like so:

setup.exe /s /V"/qn installDir='E:\Install' NOTIFY_EVENT_SERVICE_URL='http://esb01.hgic.com:5555/soap/rpc'"

There are a 20+ properties I need to set
0 Kudos
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni