cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dongwang
Level 3

how, a progress bar

can anybody show me how to operate a progress bar control on a dialog?
I created a blank dialog and drag a progress bar onto it. now I want to use a VBscript CA to display the progress bar, let's say, vbscript will run a simple for-loop to add 1 each time, and the progress bar will show the increment.

how could I do that? I did search this forum and get some documents but no more lucks.

I am using Basic MSI and installScript will not work on me.:(

Thanks a lot.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(5) Replies
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

Please see [thread=105165]this thread[/thread] for one approach to updating the progress bar from VBScript actions.
0 Kudos
dongwang
Level 3

hi,

thanks a lot but I already read this post many times. and I am new to this. I have a silly question:
where I should put the example code function into?

if I have a blank dialog including a progress bar, named progressBar1, how to bind this "progressBar1" with the CA function in this post?

RobertDickau wrote:
Please see [thread=105165]this thread[/thread] for one approach to updating the progress bar from VBScript actions.
0 Kudos
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

That code is for updating the progress bar on the SetupProgress dialog box, which is when lengthy actions commonly take place, and you might see if you can get it to work there before attempting anything different.

As mentioned in that thread, there are two connected actions: an immediate-mode action to increase the total number of "ticks" on the progress bar, and a deferred-mode action that actually increments the progress at run time.

Please also see the MSI help topic "Adding Custom Actions to the ProgressBar".
0 Kudos
Tim_Mayert
Level 9

Did you get this working?