cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tklancer
Level 4

Upgrade requires previous installer?

Hi all... I'm very new to InstallShield, so this is most likely a dumb question with an obvious answer, but lots of googling, doc reading, and experimentation don't seem to have provided it.

I've got a Basic MSI project that has been migrated from InstallShield 12, and I'm modifying it to do an upgrade from an older version of our product. I've got it configured to do a major upgrade, and I can get it to do an upgrade -- but only if the old version's MSI is embedded in the new install. I don't _want_ to have the old MSI embedded in the install -- is there any way around this? Why is it required in the first place?

Thanks for any and all assistance!
-Tom

---

Some strings for future searches (to save others from the same trouble):
upgrade requires old installer
upgrade requires previous installer
upgrade requires old MSI
upgrade requires previous MSI
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(7) Replies
Not applicable

I'm not sure what you mean by "embed your previous installer". Where are you embedding your installer?

Do you mean populating the Media -> Upgrades view?
0 Kudos
tklancer
Level 4

No, when I actually run the installer, it complains that it can't find the installer for the previous version in the temp directory it decompresses to. So, it runs through the install process, but comes up with "Error 1316. A network error occurred while attempting to read from the file c:\[...]\Centrifuge-1.0.5.msi". Centrifuge-1.0.5.msi is the installer for our previous version -- the version I'm trying to upgrade. The same thing happens when I don't use compression -- it just complains it can't find it in the DISK1 directory. If I rebuild and drop the old msi into the DISK1 directory, it runs through the upgrade process fine.