cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
GetExp
Level 6

Silent install on Vista!!!

Hello,

I created a MSI using IS2008 and tested the same in the Vista OS with the following command line

msiexec -i -qn

But it fails that I need admin privileges (infact I am an administrator but not the built in administrator). How to perfom a complete silent installation in Vista OS???

Can anybody help me please??? Its red...
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(8) Replies
Not applicable

Elevate your token prior to launching the installation. For example, you could launch from an administrator command prompt.
0 Kudos
GetExp
Level 6

Hello Bryan,

Thank you for the prompt reply. Yes I do agree that the permission level can be elevated by running the cmd.exe as built in Administrator and then pass this MSI to it to install without any problem.

But for a end user we think, the suggested alternative should be automatically triggered once the user runs the MSI with /qn command. When the user calls "msiexec /qn" from the Start->Run, the token should be automatically elevated instead running the cmd.exe as an Administrator and then launching the MSI..... Is there any change of value in the registry I can make to get this job done??? (or) any other customization will make it?

Thanks for your support....
0 Kudos
Russell_Jones
Level 3

If you create an exe called setup.exe that calls this msi then vista should realise that you want elevation and will ask the user if it is ok to run the application. A process called from an elevated app should also be elevated.

Russell
0 Kudos
GetExp
Level 6

Thanks Russell I will give it a shot....
0 Kudos
Not applicable