cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
smcburney
Level 3

Security on HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT keys?

Ok, this is really odd.

We just upgraded our install to use InstallShield 2008, and just rebuilt.

When our application gets installed on Vista, everything that the installer writes to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT (which is mostly a LOT of COM dll registration) appears to be completely locked down in the registry. As an administrator on the machine, I can see all the keys, but when I click on one and it tries to get values, I get an Access Denied error. All previously existing keys in the registry are fine. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE is also fine.

In fact, as an administrator, I cannot even change the permissions on the keys that it installed.

When our install was on a previous version of installshield, this never occurred.

Any ideas what is going on here? I'm stumped.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(5) Replies
Christopher_Pai
Level 16

What method did you use to populate the registry? ( MSI SelfReg, ISSeflReg, COM tables, Registry table, Custom Actions? )
0 Kudos
smcburney
Level 3

Most of the data is being extracted from the com components at build time by installshield, so it looks like its going into the registry table.

We also have a few registry keys that we manually added, also appearing in the registry table.
0 Kudos
smcburney
Level 3

well, after more research, I have discovered that something removed ALL permissions from HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT (but not from sub keys) on my machine that i'm testing with. Now the bigger question - what removed the permissions?

I'll continue testing and see if I can find out what did it.
0 Kudos
Christopher_Pai
Level 16

I hope you aren't using the LockPermissions table! 🙂