cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jkirkerx
Level 3

Run the GAC to register an assembly

I need to run the gacutil.exe to register an assembly.

I'm new to this, and I'm looking for a pointer in the right direction. I'm not really sure what I'm doing here and sort of frustrated.

I wanted to do something simple in vb, but I ended up trying something more complex, in which I wrote a c++ dll, and registered it in Custom Actions. I'm having trouble with the application entry point, and not really sure if my dll works. I wrote a simple program that write a text file in the root of C so I know it fired.

Is it possible for me to write a vb script, or vb dll instead of the c++ dll, so I can just get it done and move forward?

I do need to get the location of gacutil.exe and the location of the Microsoft.Web.Administrator.dll that I placed in SupportFiles Disk 1
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(3) Replies
jkirkerx
Level 3

OK, I got it to work, at least I can load the dll and fire the function now, and I think I have it loaded in the right place or sequence.

Now I just need to figure out how to pass the locations of DISK1 where my gacutil.exe is, and figure out how to use the values below.

So I have in my Function Signature
Handle - Constant - MsiHandle
STRING - Constant - [SRCDIR]
STRING - Constant - [SUPPORTDIR]
STRING - Constant - [INSTALLDIR]

I wrote a test file to the C:\ root, and wrote lines in my c++ function

UINT __stdcall _install_Microsoft_Web_Administrator( MSIHANDLE hInstall, char* SRCDIR, char* SUPPORTDIR, char* INSTALLDIR ) {
int exit_Code;

std::ofstream myfile;
myfile.open("C:\\example.txt");

myfile << "Writing this to a file.\n";
myfile << "SourceDIR=" << SRCDIR << "\n";
myfile << "SupportDIR=" << SUPPORTDIR << "\n";
myfile << "InstallDIR=" << INSTALLDIR << "\n";

myfile.close();

exit_Code = 0;
return exit_Code;

}

but this is what I got in my text file
Writing this to a file.
SourceDIR=[SRCDIR]
SupportDIR=[SUPPORTDIR]