cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jyujyu
Level 2

Registry Permissions? CA Vbscript error 80070002

Hi, just to let you know, I'm relatively new to InstallShield and vbscript. I'm developing an install client for our company's software. Anyway, I have a vbscript custom action that looks into the registry for an existing key. And how I continue the install and other scripts down the line depends on the existence/non-existence of this key (and others)

Basically, I narrowed the problem to this bit of code:

Assume that key = "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ORACLE\"

Function KeyExists(key)

Dim objShell

On Error Resume Next
Set objShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
objShell.RegRead(key)
Set objShell = Nothing
If Err = 0 Then
KeyExists = True

Else
MsgBox "Err#: " & Err.Number & " " & Err.Description
Err.Clear
KeyExists = False

End If

End Function

Now, this function hasn't given me problems before on 2 Win7 boxes(x86 & x64), and an XP box. If the key doesn't exist, that's fine, I keep going. (I added the Else part for debugging.)

My problem is that on this other Windows XP machine I'm testing the key DOES exist, and RegRead errors out. If I comment out the "On Error Resume Next" line, I get Error Code 80070002, "Unable to open registry key "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ORACLE\", Source WshShell.RegRead.

I usually try to experiment with things myself for a while and figure it out, but I can't for the life of me figure out why this is happening.
To summarize what I know:

1) The test box is running Windows XP (x86)
2) I have checked and double checked that I have Admin read/write permissions to the registry.
3) I can access and edit the aforementioned registry keys through regedit with no problem
4) The key exists and contains data values.
5) I have tried inputting the key with and without the trailing backslash