cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jchristman
Level 8

Prerequirements

Hello all, I am new to installshield 2008. I have a an application that I would like to wrap all the prerequiements up into the installer. It requires windows installer 3.1, .net framework 1.1 and .net framework 2.0, MDAC 2.8, IE7 and then a couple of thrid part installs that requires input.

I have the package installing mdac 2.8 as a prereq and .netframework 1.1 is installed as a preq when i build the release. inside my redistributables I do not have the .net 1.1, .net 2.0 or the installer 3.1 how can i check for all of these and install them if needed and then execute the 3rd party installs in silent mode waiting for each to finish before installing the next. there are three total.

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(7) Replies
jchristman
Level 8

Ok, I figured out to create prerequisites and get them to install but how do you go about passign commands to them so they run automatically.

Example including IE7 as prereq, as a prerequisite how do i get this to just install with out user interaction and not reboot.
0 Kudos
jchristman
Level 8

When creating or editing a prequisite that I have built

I am try to make the files run silent

after choosing the application to run. expample sql_2005_native_client.exe

i added to the section that says command line when running silent
msiexec /i sql_2005_native_client.exe /qn

nothing, it still requires manul interfacing.
how can I fix this
0 Kudos
Airbaal
Level 3

I'm learning how to do pre-requisites myself so I'm not sure if this information is correct, but can't you just run the EXE file directly? For example, when I install .NET Framework using a pre-req, in Application to Run i just pick the actual dotnetfx.exe file and put: /q:a /c:"install /q" for the command line so it's silent.
0 Kudos
jchristman
Level 8