cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
majorextrasize
Level 3

Patching Installshield 2010 projects

Hi all,
I am new to Installshield so please be gentle.
Our company has a product packaged in Installshield 2010 and now we need to devise an update/upgrade strategy.
Our main install has a version number of 1.00.0000
We need to apply a series of silent patches sequentially to the product, namely 1.01.0000, 1.02.0000, 1.03.0000, 1.04.0000, 1.05.0000 etc. Each patch depends on the previous patch being already installed. In each patch we need to update dlls, registry and run an Installscript custom action.
We also need to release a Service pack that incorporates all of the changes of 1.01.0000, 1.02.0000, 1.03.0000, 1.004.0000, 1.05.0000 in one package. This Service pack package also has to be silently installable regardless of what patch or patches are already installed by the customer for our original product.
Is this possible using Installshield 2010, and what do I need to do?
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(5) Replies
mumbles
Level 7

Well i'm going to make some assumptions. Firstly,you are using a Basic MSI (Which can contain installscript actions).

1. Your main package will be 1.0.0, thisis a basic MSI and will provide the 'base' install.

2. To run installscript and other actions during 'Minor Upgrades' these will also be the same basic MSI's, but the minor version will be updated. (1.1.0)

3. You can create patches to patch a file, or a registry key, those are .MSP files. This are very simple and small in size, typicallly. (1.1.1) but those cannot contain everything from previous releases, as they are limited in functionality. So essentially you are looking at having Major Versions and then performing a series of Minor Upgrades as all your upgrades AND service packs. Installshield doesn't really have the concept of 'Service Packs' like microsoft does. They are just ugprades (msi files) or patches (msp files)