cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mperkins
Level 2

Minor Upgrade Custom Sequence

Hello all. I am very new to IS and I am trying to add upgrades to a setup.exe installer for an internal tool. What has happened in the past with this tool is that upgrades were disabled and the user was notified that they must uninstall manually before reinstalling a newer version.

What I am trying to do is have IS build an installer that automatically does a complete uninstall before reinstalling. However, IS tells me that the only way I can do this is with a major upgrade (which requires changing the product code). We want to do this for every installation and not just for major upgrades.

Is there a way to always do a complete uninstall before the standard install sequence, or is there a custom sequence or a command that I can call from a script, during the setup process?

As another possibility, I see that the uninstall from the Start menu simply invokes the MSI executable with '/x {product code}'. Can't I just forcibly call this at the beginning of the installer?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mike
:confused:
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(4) Replies
Kelter
Level 10

Calling msiexec.exe within an installation is not recommended. You'll probably get an error saying something to the effect of "There's already a setup in progress. Please complete the current setup first..."

What you want is the behavior of a major upgrade during a minor upgrade. That's perfectly valid. Simple generate a new product code (bu keep the same upgrade code!) for each minor release, and create a major upgrade item in the upgrades tab.
0 Kudos
mperkins
Level 2

You are correct. I want to perform a major upgrade uninstall during a minor upgrade.

Unfortunately, my lead does not want to change the product code for say 4.1.0 to 4.2.0. The IS documentation recommends that you only generate a new product code for major releases (3.x.x to 4.x.x).