cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
maycockt
Level 3

Major upgrade does not uninstall previous version

Hi,

I'm new to installshield, and after having successfully created an installation and distributed it in house I find I'm needing to provide an upgrade.

My testing though has come up with a major flaw though - the upgrade process (and I have set to run a major upgrade, with always uninstall) is not uninstalling the previous version, and also is not overwriting the exe that was installed in the first place. So, after my upgrade, I'm left with the previous version, and no messages to tell me that the upgrade has failed.

When investigating the installed files, I'm finding that the newly created folder is read only.
Having discovered that my upgrade is not working, I also tried uninstalling the original installation, only to find that the exe and some registry entries are not uninstalled.

Is there a setting or 2 that I am missing that will
A) - Ensure the uninstallation removes all installed files, and
B) - Inform if the uninstallation / upgrade process has failed?

Tony
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(15) Replies
Lurean
Level 8

did you change your product code for the Major upgrade? If you don't change the product code it treats it as an update and not an upgrade.

Also for the files you are replacing, during an update if the file versions are the same it will leave the old one in place. During a major upgrade with uninstall previous version first it does not do file version comparisons.

As to files being left behind. This can be caused by the component IDs not matching for the components when doing an update or upgrade if the component is set to be a shared component, it will think the file is in use by more than one component and will be left behind.
0 Kudos
maycockt
Level 3

Hi Lurean,