cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pbsdis
Level 6

Is it possible to leave source files open and dynamic?

Hi,

As an InstallShield developer, I am kind of shame to ask the question - I know it's not allowed by IS as a normal practice, but I just want to get some wild ideas here:

We make package and seal everything in it (say a CD), is it POSSIBLE that we can create a folder on the CD (say /DATA) and put the source files for a feature/component of the product, AND, other people later can burn another CD that can update files in /DATA and the image is still installable?

I originally thought about it couple years ago and knew it's impossible, but I wonder if there are anybody else thinking the same thing thereafter and got any workarounds for it?

Forgive my wild imaginations :confused:

Regards,
PB
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(4) Replies
Johannes_T
Level 6

Hi!
Perhaps, I don't understand what your question is. If you only want to install files and registry entries (more?), the why simply copy files from a folder (on the install medium) to the target dir and import registry files?
Greetings, Johannes
0 Kudos
pbsdis
Level 6

Johannes,

Thanks for your reply.

Actually we are building packages for a customer, and they asked if we can build a package for him (DVD), they want to have their source included in the DVD, so the package (setup.exe or .msi) can grab the source to install. AND more importantly which triggered me to post the question: they want to burn new DVD in the future to modify their source on the DVD and still use it to install. I think it's undoable with InstallShield, unless you build another package for each new DVD, but just want to see if there are any tricks that I don't know that can work this out.

Regards,
PB
0 Kudos
Johannes_T
Level 6

Hi PB,