Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AlexChard
Level 3

Installing an Excel Add-In

Hi all

I'm new to IS, so please bare with me!

Uding IS Express 2008, I'm creating an install for some Excel files and an Excel Add In. I've got the basic install to copy the files to the user defined directory, including the Add In.

What I want to do now is install the Add In. I don't need to make it active (the spreadsheets control the behaviour when opened), so I just need to add it to the Add In manager (navigate Tools -> Add-Ins in Excel).

I've found this thread, but have no idea what to do with the code.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Alex
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(8) Replies
MichaelU
Level 12 Flexeran
Level 12 Flexeran

As a general suggestion, if you are using the Express edition, it would probably be better to post in the Express edition's forum. As for installing an Excel add-in, the question you will need to answer is: what needs to be done on the target machine to make Excel aware of the add-in? It may be a matter of adding a registry key, or file, to a well-known location, and if so it should be easy. It may require calling an entry point in some DLL, which may or may not be easy. I don't personally know anything about Excel add-in registration, though, so it might be something else entirely.
0 Kudos
AlexChard
Level 3

MichaelU wrote:
As a general suggestion, if you are using the Express edition, it would probably be better to post in the Express edition's forum.

I did, but had no replies.

MichaelU wrote: