cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
elangochd
Level 3

Individual Feature Conditions

I am a very novice/newbie in InstallShield Development. Here is my Basic MSI Question and I'd appreciate if anyone can help me out here.

I've two features (WebApps & Utilities) each of which has two sub features. All these are written in .NET and I've set the Product level conditions in the "Project Assistant - Installation Requirements" as "No Specific operating System is required" and only ".NET 2.0" and ".NET 3.5" as required.

I've also added the .NET 2.0 and 3.5 as Re-distributable as well. Now the "WebApps" feature can be installed only on a 2003 or 2008 server and it needs to have IIS installed on it. And the "Utilities" feature can be installed on any OS with .NET framework 2.0 & 3.5 (it should install if it's not present).

Now, I've given this condition for the "WebApps" and its sub features: ISIISMETABASECOMPATPRESENT=1 AND (VersionNT=502 OR (VersionNT = 600 AND WindowsBuild=6001)).

The InstallLevel is 1 for all features and subfeatures.

The Product conditions defined in the Project Assistant are evaluated fine. But not the Feature conditions. What should I do? Also am I doing right by checking for .NET frameworks at the product level?

Thanks for your help in advance.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(6) Replies
Lurean
Level 8

I had a similiar requirement to implement a while back, with slightly different needs. I needed to still show the web feature even if it is not allowed to be installed. What I did was check the IIS_VERSION to see if it was defined. It is not defined if IIS is not installed. I did this check from a dialog next button on the customsetup dialog and paired it with a check to see if the feature was selected.