cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
memento
Level 2

IS 2008 Process: From Basic MSI to Major Upgrade

I apologize if there is information on this board regarding this issue already, but I am sorely pressed for time, and any help would be tremendously appreciated.

I am new to IS 2008; my company just started using it, and I was the one chosen to learn its functionality. My problem lies in the fact that I'm not exactly sure of the correct process to get from building a Basic MSI Project to initiating an upgrade later.

Let me provide you with my scenario: we are supplying our customer(s) with a very large amount of data, in the form of a computer-based learning program. Now, we will create an installer file initially to include the first version, and probably a few months down the road, provide them with a major upgrade.

1. Do you create the project installer file first, and then create another installer file later with some upgrade functionality implemented, to update the previous one on the end-user's computer? In other words, do you simply create another Basic MSI Project with the new data and choose some options that will package it as an upgrade?

2. Do you have to implement some specific features during the initial build that will allow for an upgrade later (more than likely, it will be a major upgrade.)

I really just need to know the correct way to go to properly build a Basic MSI project that can be properly upgraded later, whether it's in the form of a patch, minor, or major upgrade.

Also, does it matter if you choose to build the installation with a Single Executable VS. the Windows Installer option for a Basic MSI Project?
I know that with a Windows Installer package, it seems to request the end-user to have administrative priviliages to run the file, but the Single Executable didn't seem to require this.

Thanks to anyone that can help.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(3) Replies
Qualter
Level 2