cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ned_mcevoy
Level 3

Execute SQL on SQL Server

Hi, this should be simple but im kinda new to this.

I'm trying to create a server side install that will create a database on a SQL server engine.

I have created a connection and a SQL Script to run on the database. But im not quite sure how to execute it on the database and for some reason im struggling to find it in the help.

Any suggestions would be great - im sure its not that difficult.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(14) Replies
Nick_Umanski
Level 7

I've just recently been struggling with the same thing, there is no useful documentation on the subject that I could find, but I've got it working so I'm sure I can help, only I'm not too sure what you are struggling with.

When you say you have created a SQL Script, do you mean you have added an entry in the SQL Scripts view under System Configuration? Or just created the script itself?

You need to do the former, right click and add a new SQL Connection (which I named "SQLServer"), then right click and add a new Script under that. This will add an entry called sqlscript.sql and create a blank file of the same name in some default directory, but then you can go to the general tab and browse to your created script and replace the default entry with that.

I see I've also got an ODBC entry - under Drivers & DSNs, the SQL Server checkbox is ticked - can't remember if I did that manually or it came about as a result of adding the SQLLogin dialog to the project, or whether this is completely unnecessary.

Repost any other questions if this doesn't help - I know this is frustrating, but it does all work beautifully once you have sorted the problems out.

Nick.
0 Kudos
TheTraveler
Level 8

I use ADO COM Objects in Install Shield Script to do anything I need with SQL Server. Here is a list of what I'm able to do.

1) Creating the database to any SQL Server on the network.