Turn on suggestions
Auto-suggest helps you quickly narrow down your search results by suggesting possible matches as you type.
- Revenera Community
- InstallShield Forum
- Deleting files from target reinstalls them
- Mark Topic as New
- Mark Topic as Read
- Float this Topic for Current User
- Printer Friendly Page
Feb 03, 2009 05:09 PM
Deleting files from target reinstalls them
I have several install projects that create folders that have content in them. But the users are allowed to delete these folders and/or the content. But when they do they automatically get installed again? I don't do anything special in the install project. What causes this and how do I disable the feature?
Feb 04, 2009 08:07 AM
That is the default behavior of Windows Installer - if it detects that installed components are missing or corrupt, it repairs them by running a reinstall. I don't think you can disable the functionality, but you might take a look at the Windows Installer documentation about components and key paths to determine how to get around it.
Feb 04, 2009 10:40 AM
Yes I realize it is the default behaviour. I have looked through the Installshield help and can't find anything about setting a prroperty of installed components so when deleted they are not reinstalled. Or by your comments do you suggest this can't be changed in Installshield?