cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hbulldog
Level 2

Creating an MSI issue

I am new to InstallShield and I am sure this has been answered somewhere in the Forum. I just can find the answer.

I have a a software package set up, with multiple folders and installs, with a script (Install.cmd) to launch these items in order. So all the user has to do is click on Install.cmd and sit back and watch everything install.

Now I they want this in an .msi.

I am using Basic MSI Project.

I have gone through the project Assistant and set up added where I want this to be set up (c:\CompanyName\software) and copied the files and folder's in, but when  run the .msi it just copies the software folder to the location but does not execute the Install.cmd

I have even tried to use the Custom Actions wizard to try and get this to run the install.cmd, with no luck.

Here are the instructions I have followed for the custom actions:

1. Make sure that the installer is configured to install the batch file to the main installation directory location (i.e., the location stored in the INSTALLDIR MSI property)
  2. Launch the Custom Action Wizard. For more information, see the "Additional Information" section of this article.
  3. On the "Basic Information" dialog, enter a name (i.e., test) for the custom action in the Name field.
  4. Click the Next button.
  5. On the "Action Type" dialog, set the "Type" to "Launch an executable" and the "Location" to "Stored in the Directory Table".
  6. Click the Next button.
  7. On the "Action Parameters" dialog, set the "Source" to "SystemFolder" and the "Target" to the following:

"[SystemFolder]cmd.exe" /c "[INSTALLDIR]NameOfBatchFile.bat"