cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Branstar
Level 3

Checking conditions in the OnEnd function

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to Installshield, but I've figured out most of what I need to do thanks to various posts in this forum. If someone were to take the time to answer this last problem I have that would be much appreciated 🙂

I'm looking to conditionally trigger the install of the .NET Framework, which seems to require I do that in the OnEnd function to work.

My problem is with checking the conditions during the OnEnd function:
- identifying that an install is occurring
- identifying that my component has been selected

I have a solution of sorts - I can imagine detecting these states via custom action conditions and setting some temporary registry keys to track these values. I already tried setting a global variable using custom action conditions, but this didn't seem to work (at least not in the OnEnd function).

I'm sure there must be a more elegant solution to the one I'm currently facing, can anyone point me in the right direction?

I'm using IS2009 Premier with an Installscript MSI project.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(3) Replies
RobertDickau
Flexera Alumni

Depending on your requirements, a prerequisite might be more appropriate. The topics under "Including Redistributables in Your Installation" have more information.
0 Kudos
Branstar
Level 3

Thanks for your reply;

Unfortunately I really do need to check these conditions in the OnEnd function - since I'm using an Installscript MSI project I can't have an optional prerequisite based on a component being selected.

While the functionality exists in Basic MSI projects, to selectively install prerequisites based on a selected feature, that is unsuitable for my purposes.
0 Kudos
joshstechnij
Level 10 Flexeran
Level 10 Flexeran