cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Pilgrim

Cancel button is disabled during tranfer phase of MODIFY or REMOVE wizards.

Hello,

I am working on a Basic InstallScript project (InstallShield 2013). I noticed the Cancel button is disabled during the file-transfer phase of the MODIFY and REMOVE wizards, preventing me from stopping these actions. Is this by design? How can I enable the Cancel button during this phase of these actions so the action can be stopped and the file-transfer can be rewound.

Thank you,

- Roger
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Highlighted
Pilgrim

Re: Cancel button is disabled during tranfer phase of MODIFY or REMOVE wizards.

Open your dialogbox and set the option "Cancel" to TRUE.
Otherwise,

write Enable(CANCELBUTTON) in the function:OnMaintUIBefore() function.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Pilgrim

Re: Cancel button is disabled during tranfer phase of MODIFY or REMOVE wizards.

Thank you, but this does not seem to address the file transfer dialog. Which one is it in the User Interface->Dialogs->All Dialogs list?

- Roger
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Pilgrim

Re: Cancel button is disabled during tranfer phase of MODIFY or REMOVE wizards.

Are you referring about SdStartCopy2?
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Pilgrim

Re: Cancel button is disabled during tranfer phase of MODIFY or REMOVE wizards.

rogereeno wrote:
Hello,

I am working on a Basic InstallScript project (InstallShield 2013). I noticed the Cancel button is disabled during the file-transfer phase of the MODIFY and REMOVE wizards, preventing me from stopping these actions. Is this by design? How can I enable the Cancel button during this phase of these actions so the action can be stopped and the file-transfer can be rewound.

Thank you,

- Roger


Roger,

The file copy action is disabled because the setup cannot be rewound for an InstallScript setup. If this is a MSI installation then it can be rewound. I do not believe InstallScript has a concept of caching the previous installation and restoring files if the user cancels the setup. At best, you will have a broken application and the previous version will need to be installed again.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Pilgrim

Re: Cancel button is disabled during tranfer phase of MODIFY or REMOVE wizards.

Thank you, Dan. That answers my question.

Regards,

- Roger
0 Kudos