cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nhynes
Level 2

Advertised shortcut and multiple local users

Hi,

Im new to InstallShield and trying to build an installation using an InstallShield MSI project. I need to allow the end user to install the application as an administrator, but have access to it by other users on the same machine. This seemed to work by default, with the shortcut being accessible by all users on the system. Im also using an advertised shortcut to execute the application. When a component is missing from the system the shortcut detects that, and re-installs the components which is good. However, when a different user logs on to the machine and starts the shortcut, it beings to reinstall components, finishes and then starts the application as normal. The shortcut then continues to work without reinstalling, but only until another user (or the original user) logs in again and starts the application. When they first start the shortcut, the same process occurs. If you then switch back to the second user, and start the shortcut, again the re-install occurs.

Our installer adds files to the [AppDataFolder] and [PersonalFolder] which I believe are the files that are being re-installed whenever you run the shortcut.

I cant understand why it re-installs for each user, whom then seems to take ownership of the application. Have I configured my project incorrectly?
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(1) Reply
joshstechnij
Level 10 Flexeran
Level 10 Flexeran

We would recommend looking through the following MSDN articles:
Searching for a Broken Feature or Component
Application Resiliency: Unlock the Hidden Features of Windows Installer