cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jedimaster_mark
Level 7

InstallAnywhere features

Hi group:

I apologize if this posting seems misplaced. I have been an InstallShield developer for some time, but am now faced with the prospect of needing to use InstallAnywhere. To that end, I have been trying to research features of the product, but have not been able to find much of anything about how InstallAnywhere handles upgrades. Can anyone just briefly explain to me the methods used to handle product upgrades with IA?

Thanks,
Mark
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(6) Replies
pv7721
Level 20

Hello Jedi Master! 🙂 I guess this post is not misplaced at all, on the contrary! I know what they usually say, that the bringer of the bad news is killed, but I'm afraid that there isn't anything much builtin in IA in order to easily implement upgrade installers. There used to be the PowerUpdate technology, but I'm afraid that when Macrovision acquired ZeroG (http://www.zerog.com/newsItems/news_050613_macrovision-acquires-zero-g-software.html) they announced they were going to support the existing user for 1 or 2 years: "PowerUpdate: We will support existing customers for 12-24 months. Existing customers are also entitled to an attractive upgrade offer to Macrovision's Update Service" (http://www.zerog.com/macrovision-zero-g-faq.html#five) Even InstallAnywhere itself uses this Update Service...
0 Kudos
jedimaster_mark
Level 7

Oh no, only tyrants and despots kill messengers when they should go after their employers. 😉

So... any idea what is happening with this now that Acresso is taking over?