cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ravikumarj
Level 4

How to create an installer that installs a JVM at a pre-defined location

Hello.

I am new to InstallAnywhere. It is only a day or two since I am trying to use it!

Well I want to create an installer that takes a location as an input (possibly thru command line arguments or properties file). And at this location, my installer should install a JVM of my choice. I have the following constraints imposed though...

1. No user interaction is required
2. Installer should be able to show a progress to the user
3. Installer needed only on windows platform (XP, 2000 and Vista)

I understand that I can include the JVM of my choice in the VM to bundle option (Build stage).

A. I am not able to understand how to give the location as an input to the installer...
B. I do not understand how is it possible to install only the VM without any other product!

Can someone please help me out on this.

Thank you.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(4) Replies
pv7721
Level 20

It's not very clear what you're trying to achieve: why do you want to install only the VM? There are ready-made installers for JVM!

You also say that you want no interaction whatsoever... but you need a location to be given by the end user...

You see, the JVM can be built into the installer, and installed, but it is supposed to be a private JVM, to be used by the installer and the installed application!

And finally, if you want to target Windows platforms only, InstallShield is a better choice!
0 Kudos
ravikumarj
Level 4

The reason why I want to install only the VM is, we need to be able to upgrade the VM on the clients' machine (only for my application). My application uses a private VM and I want to be able to upgrade it to a newer one.

Further, as I said, I do not want user input. I would want to install the new version of VM into my application's private JRE folder.