cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
panamega
Level 4

Few IA questions

I'm new to IA and had a few questions I need help with:
1. Does IA allow you to modify xml files from within by specifying the element you want to change and query for its value using the UI etc (like you can in IS) or will you have to write custom code for this and call the code during the installation?
2. Also is writing code in java the only way to create custom panels in IA or does it allow you to do it internally by giving you a list of pre defined controls you can add and setting variables to accept their values?

Will be grateful if someone would help me with these
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(13) Replies
pv7721
Level 20

The answer to your second question is that there is no tool in IA that would allow visual creation of custom panels (I think that this is what you were looking for, right?) So I'm afraid you will need to write custom code for any custom panel that you need to create.
0 Kudos
scully13
Level 4

For question #2 it does have 2 panels that you can semi-customize. Like during the pre-install you can use the Advanced or Simple Get User Input panels. Then you can plug in what type of controls they should be. The variables to use and the text to display. Then you use a variable that you choose to read in the values set.
0 Kudos
panamega
Level 4

Thanks a lot for the replies. The Get User input advanced seems to be enough for my UI needs. But I want the values entered in the textfields to be added into an xml file which forms part of the installation package.
Is there anyway I can do this from within IA itself or will I have to write custom code for it? Also is it possible to pass the results of the textfields from the UI to the code I will have to write
0 Kudos
pv7721
Level 20