cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
akirekadu
Level 3

Elevated mode only for a portion of installation process

Hi all-

InstallAnywhere newbie here. Searched user guild for keyword elevated, but found nothing.

Here's my problem. As part of the product installation, I need to register a service using "sc create...". This requires elevated privileges under Windows 2008. How do I elevate privileges only for this part of the installation?

I can't do entire installation under elevated mode because some of the files need to be copies as logged in user.

Thanks for your help...
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(7) Replies
pv7721
Level 20

0 Kudos
akirekadu
Level 3

The wikipedia article did help me understand a few facts about UAC. Thanks.

Still wondering if there is a way in IA to elevate privileges as and when needed?
0 Kudos
pv7721
Level 20

Well the beginning of the paragraph says: "A program can request elevation in a number of different ways. One way for program developers is to add a requestedPrivileges section to an XML document, known as the manifest, that is then embedded into the application." So I guess it's up to the application to ask for the elevated privileges when run as a normal user...
0 Kudos
akirekadu
Level 3

Vlad,

Sorry about not providing better details of my situation.

At a high level, here's what the installation process looks like.

1. Ask for a bunch of inputs
2. Install an embedded 3rd party product (needs to happen in normal mode)
3. Install binaries, config files etc of our product (needs to happen in normal mode)
4. Install couple of .Net services. InstallAnywhere handles installing these services using built-in mechanism. No need to run "sc create...." command (can be normal mode or with elevated privileges... does not matter)