[Incident]: Some users report they are unable to access the case portal. Please see this community notice for more information.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a way to recover lost admin password with LLS?

Is there a way to recover lost admin password with LLS?

Summary

Is there a way to recover lost admin password with LLS?

Question

Instructions on "Managing Administrative Security on a Local License Server or CLS Instance" are outlined starting on p49 of the FNE 2018 R2 SP3 License Server Administration Guide. Here's the relevant excerpt:

Resets default administrator password

For a local license server: Uses one of the following:
? -authorize command option (to authenticate default administrator credentials) with -users -edit options
in FlexNet License Server Administrator command-line tool (flexnetlsadmin).
Default credentials are required.2
? Appropriate facility in producer?s custom administrator tool. Default credentials are required.4

It mentions that the admin password is required to reset the password. In Honeywell's case is, the password is lost and customer wants to reset it. It's similar to "Forget password" scenario. Its not clear from the instructions above; how exactly can this scenario be handled with FNE?

Answer

You need to create a replacement producer-settings.xml with an admin password.

Here are the steps followed to reset the admin password (if customer forgets the admin password)
1. Delete the ServerStore (this contains the Features and the admin password)
2. Restart the License Server, so that this reads the default password from producer-settings.xml
3. Use the flexnetlsadmin to change the password. (Note: Customer should know the default password to change it)
Was this article helpful? Yes No
No ratings
Comments

Could you clarify what the "ServerStore" is and how to delete it? Also, will this cause features deployed on this license server to be lost? If yes, how does the customer get them back?

Thanks,

  Romain

The ServerStore here being referred to as TS(trusted Storage) of Local License Server. Which means if you delete the TS, on restarting of LLS, it will again read the default's from producer-settings.xml and make a new entry into the LLS DB.

Up on deleting the TS,  LLS will lose the features and served clients information. If your LLS is online (have the lfs.url set) and sync params are switched on, then it will recover the last information available from the Back Office(FNO).

In case of offline LLS, you can recover only feature information by manually downloading license file from FNO.

Version history
Last update:
‎Nov 12, 2018 08:25 PM
Updated by: