Loading
Applications Properties History questions

Can anyone help me understand why there seems to be continual linking and unlinking and why the history shows actions from unmanaged to Inactive in the attached file?

Applications & Evidence/Applications/All Applications/Application Properties


  • rmiller1 (Flexera Software)

    Hi mdh7768,

    In the screenshot of the application, the linking and unlinking typically represent when that specific application is discovered on a new device (link) or has been detected as being uninstalled (unlink) on a device.

    In some cases, when application version updates occur and there are different applications definitions for each version, the device is seen to be unlinked from one application version and linked to another, even though the application name may stay the same. The only difference is that the version has changed.

    I personally would need more info for Unmanaged/Inactive, but my thoughts are that when a device is unlinked, and it is the last installation of that software on a device, and no other installations exist, it may go from Unmanaged to Inactive (from Installed Applications to All Applications). I can't say with the data you provided. Note, all applications that are discovered will initially be in an Unmanaged state.

     

    Hope this helps.

    Expand Post
    Selected as Best
  • rmiller1 (Flexera Software)

    Hi mdh7768,

    In the screenshot of the application, the linking and unlinking typically represent when that specific application is discovered on a new device (link) or has been detected as being uninstalled (unlink) on a device.

    In some cases, when application version updates occur and there are different applications definitions for each version, the device is seen to be unlinked from one application version and linked to another, even though the application name may stay the same. The only difference is that the version has changed.

    I personally would need more info for Unmanaged/Inactive, but my thoughts are that when a device is unlinked, and it is the last installation of that software on a device, and no other installations exist, it may go from Unmanaged to Inactive (from Installed Applications to All Applications). I can't say with the data you provided. Note, all applications that are discovered will initially be in an Unmanaged state.

     

    Hope this helps.

    Expand Post
    Selected as Best
    • ChrisG (Flexera Software)

      @rmiller1 's thoughts on the "Action" change are right: the "Action" field changes to "Inactive" when the application is no longer recognized as installed on any inventory devices, and changes to "Unmanaged" when the application is recognized as installed if it wasn't previously recognized as installed anywhere.

  • What if you have an application that was marked unauthorized and you see it installed on a device.  Then you remove the unauthorized application from the device.  Does the application stay in the unauthorized status or does FNMS change to inactive automatically each time?  Need to know this for authorized apps identified and removed does the status of the classification stay even if the installs are removed.  Thank you! Fran 

    Expand Post
    • Thanks! Happy New Year also! So to clarify... if an application is marked unauthorized and its removed the status will change automatically in FNMS to inactive... if the that application gets installed again the status that we changed it to "unauthorized" will then show again if the application is installed on another device. Is this the correct explanation for what happens in FNMS... I have a customer wanting me to explain the scenarios so they will better understand what to expect from the tool

       

      Thank you!

       

      Fran

       

      Frances Cuthbert

       

      Senior Professional Service Delivery Coordinator

       

      Software Asset Management, Modern Workplace

       

      DXC Technology

       

      fcuthbert@dxc.com

       

      www.dxc.com
      Expand Post
      • JohnSorensenDK (Flexera Software)

        @fcuthbert  

        I stand corrected, and I have therefore deleted my previous response... (I'm so sorry for having been misleading you on this topic...)

        The application will remain in the unauthorized status although it has been uninstalled from all devices, and as such until it's manually edited and entered into another status.

        Thanks,

        Expand Post

Related  Product Forums


                     → Flexera One



                      → Snow Atlas



                      → FlexNet Manager



                      → Snow License Manager



                       → App Broker


       Need help finding an answer?


        Ask a Question →


Loading
Applications Properties History questions