cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

help needed: deploy HP Scanner TWAIN drivers via Active Directory & GPO

i need to install some drivers via Active Directory & GPO on about 15+ machines. These are the "HP Alternative Minimum TWAIN Drivers" for the HP Scanjet 5590 (Scanner).

The extracted file contains two MSIs: an ISScript8.msi & an "WIA and Minimal TWAIN for hp Scanjet 5590.msi" that has to run off of setup.exe.

i have seen the HOW-TO articles (the articles that came closest to resolving this issue) in the Macrovision knowledge base. These seemed interesting:
  • Q107978 : HOWTO: Avoiding Using Setup.exe When Deploying Setups with InstallScript Custom Actions
  • Q108166 : HOWTO: Deploying an MSI Wrapped with an InstallShield Script-Based Setup.exe
    • this one being the most promising.

However i'm facing difficulties. This is my first attempt at deploying anything via AD & GPO (yeah... picked the right one didn't i?). Can some one guide me through this process?

Problem that i am running into:

in Q108166 is ISSETUPDRIVEN item supposed to be added in: InstallShield > Direct Editor > Tables > Property
? When i try that i get the warning: "Field "Property" of table "Property": The new record duplicated primary keys of the existing record in a table." and the item is removed.

Thanks for your help!

Shams
(1) Reply

The thing that confuses me is that every where i search, on the web and knowledgebases, the documentation provided is almost excactly that which is from the knowledge base documentation Q108166 quoted:

To deploy a script-driven MSI using Active Directory (or another deployment method that requires the MSI format), you must configure the setup and the target system in the following manner:
[list=1]
  • Install ISScriptx.msi (where x denotes the version with which the setup was authored).