Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Computername?

CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
Hi All,

I'm new to installshield but not to packaging. I've taken a snapshot of a clean image, installed the packaged and captured the changes.

Now after examining the irp the application I am repackaging puts an entry in the registry that is equal to the computername of the computer it was installed on.

How can I put in a variable such as %Computername% . I’ve tried %computernamer% in the registry key but it takes that value literally.

I then skipped that app and moved on to another but this one creates files using the computername. Arrghhh!

:mad:

Please Help
(9) Replies
MSI defines a property called ComputerName, and you can place the value [ComputerName] in a registry key, where MSI will expand the property at run time. (To expand the environment variable, you can use [%COMPUTERNAME].)

(If you have a copy of Administrator's Introduction to Application Repackaging and Software Deployment using Windows Installer --- www.installshield.com/ispress --- this MSI "Formatted" data type is described in Chapter 8...)
CChong
By Level 11 Flexeran
Level 11 Flexeran
Thanks for that mate. I'll give it a try and let you know how we get on.

All the best
On a related question. Acrobat writer creates a dsspooler using the computername. but using the DNSDOMAIN and standard DOMAIN variables.

can we use any envinroment variables or just computername?

If not is it easy enough to create a null value or 3 in the MSI database and use a custom VB action to read the registry/env. vars. and write them into those values at runtime? i assume it would them also have to be placed between costinitialise and finalise? or can it simply go right into the beginning as nothing really denends on it as such?
You can use any Environment variable with the syntax [%VariableName].
Hi guys,

I have now tried:
[%COMPUTERNAME]
[%COMPUTERNAME%]
[COMPUTERNAME]