cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Downgrading file during major upgrade does not install new file

Downgrading file during major upgrade does not install new file

Summary

Downgrading file during major upgrade does not install the lower versioned file

Symptoms

Downgrading file during major upgrade does not install the lower versioned file.
Most of the time, both the older versioned and newer versioned files are gone from the machine after the major upgrade is completed.

Cause

This behavior is due to the installer seeing that the new file has a lower version during costing.
The file is then marked as will not replace even if the higher version file is removed from the machine during the uninstall phase.

Resolution

This is the result of how Windows Installer is designed.
Downgrading is not recommended.

Workaround

  • Mark the file as Always Overwrite in the file property.
  • Create an Installscript wrapper that removes the older version before installing the newer version of the installer.
  • Remove the existing file before costing.

Additional Information

For more information on InstallScript Wrapper, please visit the helpdoc.
Was this article helpful? Yes No
No ratings
Version history
Revision #:
1 of 1
Last update:
‎Jul 18, 2018 12:18 AM
Updated by: