cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
brisnick
Level 3

Wrapping an existing installation?

Hi,

I'm new to InstallShield but I think I have simple requirements, but sadly I'm in need of help/advice.

What I need to do is take *existing* installer software and wrap it up so someone only needs to double-click an MSI and it will install.

e.g.

Software that has an MSI that I would execute by using msiexec and passing a few command-line arguments.

How do I wrap that in an MSI that automatically passes those command-line arguments.

i.e.

Microsoft Project silent install I would run by using the command:

msiexec /i prjstde.msi /qn /norestart /l*v install.txt

Can I create an MSI that would execute that command when double-clicked? Can I create an MSI that compresses all the files into one MSI and then executes that command when double-clicked?

Another example would be an install that runs by clicking setup.exe. I would need to create an MSI that simply starts setup.exe (preferably again by compressing all the files within the msi.

Can anyone help, or give me advice on where to read something that would be helpful.

Regards,
Nick
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(5) Replies
GarrettDyer
Level 5

It's not the greatest situation to get yourself into, but you can make it tenable, for sure. I have taken an existing Wise installation package and wrapped it in an MSI and had great success with it. I use a vbscript custom action to perform prechecks, execute the Wise package, passing it the values it needs to run silently, and also do the other things that were being done manually by our support staff.

You'll want to be mindful of other MSIs that might need included in your installation, because creating a wrapper MSI around them will cause you some headache. In that case you may be better off creating an InstallScript project.

But yeah, go for it!
0 Kudos
Matthias1967
Level 5