cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mmy1981
Level 3

VS2012 & InstallShield LE: create web setup project instead of publishing

Hi,
I'm new to VS2012 (migrating from VS2010). Searching the web I found a solution to create setup packages for Windows Forms and Windows Services, but now I'm having difficulties with ASP.NET web applications.

I'v created an ASP.NET web application and would like to create a setup project. The old "Web Setup Project" isn't available anymore, but can't the Installshield LE accomplish the same result?

I don't think I can use the publish option because
- the web application has to be installed locally on servers running IIS (and no real web servers - so publishing the application directly to the server over the net isn't an option)

- the web application can be installed on different operating systems (only IIS and .net 4 is needed), so Win XP, Win7, Win server 2003/2008, ... So I don't think the publishing option to import a web deploy package will work for ex. on Win XP since as I understand, on the server the web deployment has to be available (can't get this option running on Win XP and the end user isn't always able to install this - so this option isn't available in IIS)

In short, I need something (like a setup does) that installs the webapplication under the inetpub folder and that creates the application in IIS too (with the .NET framework, application pool, ...)

Is this possible with Installshield LE? And can anybody point me in the right direction?

Help is much appreciated, thanks
0 Kudos
(2) Replies
mmy1981
Level 3

Update, for those who are struggling with the Installshield LE. It seems I can create a web setup project, below is a brief explanation. But please, correct me if this is wrong practice...

1) create an ASP.NET web application
2) file - add new project - installshield LE project