cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Fred
Level 3

Translate from IS6.3.... Help needed !

Hello, I am new to IS2015..
In my company, all our installers (10) are based on IS6.3 + PackageForTheWeb...
Those installer are invoked by some packaging scripts that also manage Clearcase file updating and others "in house" stuff.
So we had to use XP (in a virtual machine) in order to make it worj since IS6.3 do not work on W7x64...

So I was aked to migrate to IS2015...
I really want to find an automatic way to translate my IS6.3 project into IS2015... but the automatic import import fails to do that.
I am affraid about the idea that I have to rewrite my 10 installers projets...

Is it possible (or not) to automaticaly translate my IS6.3 projects into IS2015 one ??
If yes how to do that ?

If no, what do you suggest me ?

I tried to build a basic MSI project but fall into many issues such as
- Cannot build INSTALLDIR from Product Name (or other variable) -> Should I use an InstallScript project and customize TARGETDIR ??
- It's a pity to integrate MY vc_redist and MY .Net4.5 as prerequisite into the setup.exe single exe
- Where can I find the command line in order to automate creating setup.exe from my script ? I used to call ISBuild -p -m -r then after pftwwiz.exe -a

thanks for your help.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(12) Replies
MarkusLatz
Level 8

I have also a project that I have migrated from IS6.3 to IS 7.0 to IS 9.0 to IS 2010 to IS 2016.

And that worked. But in each release I have to update the things that had changed.

What I can offer you is, that if you have a project that you can send me I will try to migrate through all my InstallShield versions and check were it run into trouble.

regards

Markus
0 Kudos
Fred
Level 3

MarkusLatz wrote:
What I can offer you is, that if you have a project that you can send me I will try to migrate through all my InstallShield versions and check were it run into trouble.
Markus

Hi Markus,