cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Pizzamampf
Level 4

MsiGetTargetPath problem

Hi, I'm quite new with InstallShield and currently working on my first project (using InstallShield 2018 Professional), so I'm running into lots of trouble. Currently I'm stuck with MsiGetTargetPath and even searching this forum couldn't find any solution.

Quick problem setup:
I have a Basic MSI project. In Properties I've defined a property called "MAINDIR". The value is looked up from registry: In RegLocator I read a value into regSignatureMaindir, in AppSearch I connect it to the MAINDIR property. Generally, looking up the Property results in the correct path, so this part works as expected.
In Directory view, directories are defined as follows (besides several other standard directories):

Directory Directory_Parent DefaultDir
-----------------------------------------
MAINDIR TARGETDIR MAINDIR
TOOLSDIR MAINDIR tools

The "Target Directory Path" preview shows [MAINDIR] for the first entry and [MAINDIR]\tools for the second. Looks alright to me.

In my InstallScript Custom Action I try this:

nvSize = MAX_PATH + 1;
MsiGetTargetPath(hMSI, "TOOLSDIR", svToolsdir, nvSize);
SprintfMsiLog("Tools dir is %s.", svToolsdir);

Unfortunately, svToolsdir is always empty. Just for a test, I also tried to look up MAINDIR instead, same result: MsiGetTargetPath returns an empty string.

In other Custom Actions, for example type "Launch an executable", I can use TOOLSDIR as working directory and also reference [TOOLSDIR] in "File Name & Command Line", it works perfectly. Generally it seems the properties are set up correctly.
Is there anything I missed, any property I'd have to set for MsiGetTargetPath?

Edit:
Just some more information: Within the same InstallScript method I also can't look up the properties using MsiGetProperty; I get an empty result.