cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
chriz78
Level 3

MSI cache

I'm kind of new to InstallShield and I mostly just use it for repackaging some apps for deployment through SCCM. Anyway, I noticed that the first time a user runs certain MSI based applications, the application tries to configure itself, and looks for the source MSI. If it's no longer in the ccmcache folder, it fails to run and asks to browse for the MSI source. I know many applications cache the MSI into folders such as C:\Windows\Installer or C:\ProgramData\Package Cache. How do I tell InstallShield to cache the MSI somewhere? The only setting I found is in the release section, but that only is for programs using setup.exe, and I try to make my installs as only MSI's. If there is a setting, is there a default or standard folder that the MSI should be cached to?
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(6) Replies
chad_petersen
Level 9

If your using the "Basic MSI" as Flexera calls it then yes, your MSI should be cached to the C:\Windows\Installer folder. However, it will not have the file name of your MSI. Instead it will have a system generated hex number in place of the name of your MSI file. It will still be an MSI file, but the filename won't be one you recognize. If you sort your C:\Windows\Installer folder by the "Date modified" column, with newest at the top, and then run your installer to completion then refresh your C:\Windows\Installer folder the newest MSI file should be from the installer that you most recently ran.

That's how it works for me, at least.

There's a bit more too it than that, like how it stores the entry in the registry to map your MSI to the one in the cache, but it gets a bit more involved with GUID scrambling going on. I have an unscrambler myself that I wrote which allows me to verify a few things, but it's all Microsoft stuff there.

I hope that helps some.

Chad
0 Kudos
chriz78
Level 3