cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
coedindigo
Level 5

Installing Service on Vista.

I am trying to install service on Vista machine.
It fails to start even if i try from the Services panel.

It says Service started and then stopped and fails to start service.

When i try to run service from windows task manager it give error saying that Unable to start service. Access Denied.

Can anyone please tell me how can i install service on Vista machine?(My service is working fine in debug mode,but somehow not getting installed properly from my installation)

Thanks in advance.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(3) Replies
ChristopheOce
Level 7

Hi,

I'm a beginner but i'm also add a service under vista plateform and it's works very well !

This service is coding on net 2.0 !
On installshield i have a basic msi project and in a component i've had this executable and the config file.

For to start the servicee, i start the service UNDER a domain\user and password perhpas there is you error !

I don't know vista plateform very well, but perhpas try to start your service under a administrator user and tell me what ?!

Have a nice day
Christophe
0 Kudos
coedindigo
Level 5

Hi,

Can you provide me with sample snippet of code you are using for installing and starting the service?

How do you start the service under domain user/password? Can you please explain more on this? ( I am running service under administrator account)

My project type is installScript.

Any pointer would be helpful.

Thanks a ton.
0 Kudos
ChristopheOce
Level 7

Hi,

there is no code for to add the service, installshield doing all for me !
But me, it's a project BASIC MSI PROJECT !

if you have a little time create, a basic msi project , add a component and add ON THIS COMPONENT your SERVICE !

I don't know installscript project !!!